Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Capital-Campaign-Logo-Horiz_color-768x277 (1)

CAMPUS EXPANSION

K-12 EDUCATIONAL FACILITY & COMMUNITY CENTER

We are honored that you are interested in joining our community! 

Play Video about Campus Expansion Overlay
LogosAcad_0116

Grand Opening!

This spring, Logos Academy opened a new facility at 255 W King Street. The 10.9 million-dollar project was started just before the pandemic and the project has overcome obstacles of delay and cost increases. The new facility will serve as a K-12 educational facility and community center. 

The 27,000 sq foot building features 7 classrooms, gymnasium, locker rooms, dining hall, board room, community meeting space as well as office space which will house LogosWorks Partners and recently acquired marketing company, Pulsar Enterprises

The Journey Continues

The capital stack on the project consists of a capital campaign with significant community investment, a new market tax credit, and an in process RACP grant. Funding is still needed for the project to be debt free and totals $3.6 million dollars. 

Construction of the facility occurred in two phases due to pandemic challenges. The first phase focused on the renovation of a historic art deco structure which served as an old Cadillac dealership in the 1970’s. This section of the building was opened in March of 2022. The second phase, which is new construction and completes the project, opened to students in March 2023. 

LogosAcad_0108
Oldsmobile-1-300x248

A Rich History

The building that houses Logos Academy and Logos Works Partners has a rich history. In 1937, well-known York architect Harry Russel Lenker was commissioned to design an automobile showroom at 251-257 W. King St. for Charles Heiges. Lenker chose the popular art moderne style of that era for the two-story building featuring a rounded corner and a tall, decorative parapet-like feature.

The 1945 “York – The Story of a Dynamic Community” has a photograph of the building and states: White Rose Motors, Inc. was organized July 13, 1938. The organization was activated for the purpose of providing an up-to-date sales and service facility for Cadillac and Oldsmobile motor-cars.

By 1968, the showroom was known as Moore Cadillac, which later relocated to a showroom on South Queen Street. That building no longer exists. The original showroom was eventually purchased by the York YMCA and was sold to Logos Academy in 2012.

Thank you!

We have come this far thanks to our community! Funding is still needed for the project to be debt free. The journey continues…

For further information about the campaign or with questions, contact:

Lauren Sheehy, Director of Institutional Advancement / lauren.sheehy@logosyork.org